Lab Research Overview

We take molecular approaches to two herpesviruses, herpes simplex virus (HSV) and human cytomegalovirus (HCMV), in part to understand processes that distinguish viral functions from cellular functions, which can be exploited to permit antiviral therapy. The foci are 1) post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression relevant to virus latency, a fascinating and clinically important topic, 2) functional dissection of replication proteins, and 3) antiviral drug targets, drug mechanisms, and drug resistance, with emphasis on targeting proteins involved in nuclear egress.

Post-transcriptional regulation and latency: We are studying post-transcriptional regulation of herpes simplex virus genes, including how host and viral microRNAs regulate the virus and vice-versa, and translational regulation.

Herpesvirus DNA replication proteins: These proteins are both antiviral drug targets and prototypes for human replication proteins. We are currently focusing on determining 3-D structures of these proteins in complex with replication templates and studying mechanisms of drugs that inhibit the viral polymerases (with the Abraham lab). 

Drug targets and nuclear egress: Aside from our studies of herpesvirus DNA replication proteins. we are studying the human cytomegalovirus protein kinase that phosphorylates ganciclovir and is inhibited by maribavir, and promotes nuclear egress (with the Abraham lab). We are also studying the two-subunit nuclear egress complex as a potential target for new antivirals (with the Arthanari lab).  



Sorry for the long delay in editing this website, so the following is old news: 

We're happy to announce that David Knipe's lab and ours filled the joint postdoctoral position, and that Biswajit Das joined our labs in September of 2021.  Around that time, our laboratory moved to the New Research Building and Don Coen's office moved to Building C.


In other news, Han Chen has taken a position at Dewpoint Therapeutics, and Fan Wu has begun graduate studies at the University of Kentucky.